The Seven Deadly Sins

The seven deadly sins are alive and well and thriving in the world of today. What are the seven deadly sins? By today’s standards they are: Wrath; Greed; Sloth; Pride; Lust; Envy; and Gluttony. The seven deadly sins are objectionable vices which are part of Christian Ethics. The Catholic Church divides these sins into two categories. One is a venial sin (which is where guilt in minor), and the other is a mortal sin (which is said to destroy the life of grace and charity, which ultimately leads to a life of damnation. Let’s have a look at how these sins are alive and well in society today.

Wrath is extreme anger. Where have we seen this display today? Domestic violence is a good example of wrath. Each and every day on the news there is an example of this deadly sin. There are thousands of men and women beaten on a daily basis so that the offender, which is the person doing the beating, whether verbal or physical, feels a sense of superiority over the person being beaten. Rather than give you a specific case, just read your daily newspaper. You will find a case between pages one and nine of a domestic violence case.

Greed is the intense and selfish desire for something. Most commonly it is a desire for power and wealth. This too is alive and well and living in the world today. Take a look at that company that we reviewed a while back. The one we called “Piggy.” “Piggy” makes money hand over fist by getting approval from the Public Utilities Commission, who might have Piggy’s hand in their pocket, to pass on the costs to their customers for their own negligence in not maintaining their own equipment. I do not know about you, but if my company blew something up, destroying the lives of many, due to lack of maintenance on my companies part, my company would have to bear the cost. “Piggy” gets approval from the P.U.C. so that we the people have to pay for their negligence, and all of this for a “good bottom line.” Hmmm…bank bailouts are coming to mind too…and the crash of the housing market due to poor decisions made by lenders on risky loans. Who ended up with the money? Who has the power? Who has taken operations that were once in the U.S. to other countries due to cheaper labor resulting in hundreds of thousands unemployed in the U.S. and fatter wallets?

Sloth is the reluctance to work or to make an effort. The older I get the more I see this. I do not know about you, but I know a number of folks in their mid-forties to mid-sixties who have had troubles with their jobs; lost their jobs; and now they feel that they are “owed” by society for the loss of their job. Guess who gets to pay for them not working? It comes down to you and me. I know a gal who has been out of work for years and who suffers, blames it on others, and has every perfect reason why it is that she just cannot work for this place or that. Get a job and contribute to society so that I do not have to support you!

Pride is a high or inordinate opinion of one’s own dignity, importance, merit, or superiority, whether as cherished in the mind or as displayed in bearing, conduct…More and more in the news we hear of police officers who break the laws that they are to uphold. We also get to see those who thump their chests as they run for political office, and then the dirt comes out. See wrath…

Lust is a very strong sexual desire. Let me ask you this: Have you heard of any politician having an extramarital affair? Is there anyone that comes to mind from say the last year? Maybe from two years ago? Maybe from 15 or 30 years ago? Oh, and just to make sure that this article is not picking on one particular group, politicians, think about the teachers and clergy in the news that have “hit on” children. Actually, there are a number of television shows about the topic, so no need to go further. Just turn on the TV and search the channels…you will find a program on this topic guaranteed.

Envy is a feeling of discontentment or a resentful longing aroused by someone else’s possessions, qualities, or luck. Do you know anyone who has displayed jealousy? Well, there you go. This is in the news too every day and is usually included in the news report on where wrath is involved.

Gluttony is eating to excess. In this country we read and hear daily about obesity. We have become a society of fat people who cannot say no to eating a stack of six pancakes, three eggs and 2 slices of bacon and 2 sausages for breakfast. But how can one possibly pass by three 99 cent tacos at that fast food joint? Or the $10 pizza that comes with 6 sugar coated cinnamon twists? Does this give you a picture?

And the sad part is that all of these seven deadly sins tie one to the other. For other examples on these seven deadly sins, just read the newspaper.


About wrantandwrave

Just a pair of folks who have something to say...
This entry was posted in Rants and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Seven Deadly Sins

  1. PJ says:

    Common threads to the users/abusers of the Seven Deadly Sins are that they are mostly politicians, bankers, and big businesses, which seem to be sinning solely for number one – themselves.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s